hawaiimili.blogg.se

Dragon keeper robin hobb pdf
Dragon keeper robin hobb pdf






And I am a strong feminist, so normally I wouldn't make that kind of argument. In this, and the Liveship series, no women seem to be free from oppression of some sort, which makes for a boring story and stunts their characters. I cannot believe an editor was so lax as to approve this! I can ignore bad writing for the sake of a good story, but repetitive, uncreative writing just jars me from the story, and bores and frustrates me.Īs for the female characters- why are they so downtrodden? I get that Hobb might want to talk about the struggles of women in a less-developed, slightly oppressive environment, but she has gone overboard. The speech between one character and the next is almost identical sometimes, and conversation tends to repeat another character's thoughts from a mere one page earlier. 211 pages in, and I cannot recall any ordinary conversations- they are all super long, almost formal, and seem to talk about the same town issues/ over and over again, with no distinct differences in the perspective from different characters.

#DRAGON KEEPER ROBIN HOBB PDF SERIES#

I think her Liveship series was somewhere in between the others and this book in quality. And her wide variety of characters, and in particular her representations of women, were excellent. I adored the Farseer & Tawny Man series from Hobb, and her writing style was perfectly fine in those. This is a good story, but the writing does it absolutely no justice. I'm only about a quarter through this book, but it is frustrating me so much that I have to vent my feelings.

dragon keeper robin hobb pdf

So, though I stand by my low rating and negative review of Dragon Keeper, I would recommend you push through it and read the rest of the series, because I adored the second book.*****

dragon keeper robin hobb pdf

The improvement from the first book is almost miraculous. *****I just wanted to say that I have finished the second book, Dragon Haven.






Dragon keeper robin hobb pdf